Want to include an event of your own? Click here

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Speak Up / Food Trucks / Public Hearing

July 26, 2016 @ 7:00 PM

facebook_event_1654667794854056

The Grand Rapids City Commission is holding a public hearing to receive citizen input on a DRAFT proposed ordinance that would – for the first time – free food trucks to operate independently on public property such as parks, on-street parking spaces and other city-owned right-of-ways. The proposed ordinance would also:

>>>Make the business licensing process easier and less costly by requiring a single license for the food truck business. Currently, the City requires licensure of all food truck employees.
>>>Prioritize protection of public safety. For the first time, the ordinance requires that all food truck businesses operating in the city get regular fire safety inspections.
>>>Prohibit vending within 100 feet of traditional restaurants.
>>>Clearly define all vendor responsibilities related to trash management, hours of operation, noise controls and other operating guidelines.

This hearing is an opportunity for citizens to share – for the record – their perspective on the proposal and any ideas for improving the DRAFT ordinance. Individuals will have 3-minutes to speak.

If you are unable to attend the hearing, or would like to provide additional input, write the Mayor and City Commissioners:
Mayor Rosalynn Bliss: mayor@grcity.us
Commissioner Dave Allen: dcallen@grcity.us
Commissioner Joe Jones: jdjones@grcity.us
Commissioner Ruth Kelly: rkelly@grcity.us
Commissioner Senita Lenear: slenear@grcity.us
Commissioner Jon O’Connor: joconnor@grcity.us
Commissioner Dave Shaffer: dshaffer@grcity.us

Click here for additional information on the effort to open the market for food trucks, support culinary entreprenuership and build an even stronger food culture in Grand Rapids: http://downtowngr.org/our-work/projects/free-the-food-trucks (This page includes a copy of the DRAFT proposed ordinance and a summary of the process to design it.)

Details

Date:
July 26, 2016
Time:
7:00 PM

Venue

Grand Rapids City Hall
300 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503 United States